Our number will be shown in whatsapp contacts when you create account on it until then it will not available for anyone who try to send message. Like this you can stop showing your number whatsapp whenever you don’t want to use whatsapp. Some people will uninstall and leave it but your number will be show as whatsapp number. You should delete account to know other that you are not on whatsapp account. You will get a otp to do this so that your number should be in active on any device then only you can remove account from whatsapp messenger.